Is this illegal or just unethical?

I am a student and one of my friends at school has h.i.v. and another girl who goes there (claming to be bored) one day, looks up everybodys public records and finds out my friends status printed it out and showed everybody at school behind his back. I was livid that another person would do that to someone in there work enviroment. we havent told any teachers yet because i want to have my facts straight but even though its public records is it illegal or just unethical?

17 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

I think it is neither, I have a right to know if I am sitting next to someone HIV positive. If they get a cold I don't really want them coughing all over me. Do you ???

Would you want to know if the person next to you coughing and sneezing all over has a disease that will KILL you???

Source(s): The Raven.
  • 9 years ago

Here's how it works. Unless it caused the girl to do something like commit suicide, then it could not be charged as a serious felony. BUT, the boy CAN attempt to press criminal charges (most of which thinking about are pretty serious) with stalking, criminal harrassment, and disturbing a school assembly. The boy could sue for emotional distress and the school could be prosecuted for not intervening under loco prentis. I'm sure someone could come up with more obscure charges, but from what i can see those are the main charges you could attempt to file, but the kid would have to find out about the paper BEFOREHAND and be in depression and emotionally or physically hurt by it for it to be a good case. Hope this is put to a stop and good luck to you and your friend. It's nice that your compassionate enough to try and help. But remember to tell an adult and try not to take matters into your own hands. Many teachers might just have a talk with the girl and leave it at that. That is when you should try to get justice for the boy and put the bullying to a stop.

• Erika
    Lv 4
    3 years ago