Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Pregnancy & ParentingBaby Names · 9 years ago

Blonde Hair Guy & Brunette Girl = Baby hair color?

Ok so lets say the mother has medium to dark brown hair, fair skin and light brown eyes.

The father has blonde hair, blue eyes and fair skin.

What is the likeliness of the baby being a blonde hair blue eyed baby?

17 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Brown hair and brown eyes are both dominant traits, so both of those are more likely. I'm trying to remember from when I studied the basics of genetics in school. I think the blue eyes would be a 1 in 4 chance. Same with the blond hair. But it's possible! I'm the brown eyed brown haired mommy with the blue eyed husband... and the blue eyed baby. =)

• 4 years ago

I'm blond with a dark haired husband. We have two blonds- one a very light almost white blond, the other a bit more honey blond. The third child has light brown hair with red highlights. Hair color is determined by multiple genes, not just singular ones passed on from each parent. Therefore there can be many different variations of hair color, and it almost doesn't matter what color the parents hair is (my parents are both dark, and had three blonds, one brunette). Eye color is a bit more singular gene specific. Blue eyes are recessive. For a child to have blue eyes, it would need to inherit a blue gene from each parent. A blue eyed parent can only pass on blue genes, while a brown eyed parent may have brown and/or blue eye genes, and could pass on either.

• 9 years ago

Well, it really depends on the mother's genotype. Her phenotype (meaning the traits that are displayed) contains brown hair and brown eyes. Both of these traits, especially hair color, are more complicated traits than some and therefore it is more difficult to predict the traits that will be exhibited by the descendants.