Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsPhotography · 10 years ago

any tips on home family portraits?

hi im thinking about starting a little side job in photography im still learning but have practised alot on family and friends and everytime the pictures turn out brilliant and everyone is always so chuffed.people tell me i should do this as a full time job but would like to take it slowly and build up my customer base. anyway the thing is i have my backdrop kit lighting etc but i am worried about setting up at people homes and making their house a mess or if there isnt enough light in their house or not enough room. i couldnt really go into their house and set up 3 lights and brollys (there probably wouldnt be enough room anyway) lol.

would you have any tips if you have any experience in home family portraits how did you set your backgrounds up etc??? any help will be great

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Joe M.
    Lv 6
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hello:

A good location portrait photographer takes each location on it's own merits. You don't always have to think "full pack" in terms of the backdrop and all three lights. Nor do you always have to use the backdrop for a portrait either.

Sometimes, one monolight will work fine for a family portrait--especially if lack of working space is an issue. Many times, the natural light in the room will work just fine. Also--and speaking of "room"--sometimes the room itself will make a great background itself (depending on how it's decorated and such), and at times eliminates the need for a backdrop.

If space is a consideration, consider using the client's garage. You can also shoot outdoors using your stropes in "open shade." And speaking of "outdoors"--I've been photographing many portraits of families using the family home itself as a background; with the sun slightly behind the subjects and using my battery powered (or AC powered) flash equipment as fill.