Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentGovernment · 9 years ago

what is the order of power in the usa? fist one being the PRESIDENT then the vice but then what?

like hou would be next in line in power? and the next and next ex...

im waching Highschool of the Dead and like the top 10 are dead so like i was wadering how low dose it go? like is the us head of treasury in ther?


dam Treasury was in ther

and if the Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano dies then what?

also sum of the names are not in the order i would be them in

Update 2:

in the anime they say the home land came first then Secretary of Energy ...i gust it rong

2 Answers

  • Dale
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

    1 Vice President Joe Biden

    2 Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi

    3 President pro tempore of the Senate Daniel Inouye

    4 Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton

    5 Secretary of the Treasury Timothy Geithner

    6 Secretary of Defense Robert Gates[2]

    7 Attorney General Eric Holder

    8 Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar

    9 Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack

    10 Secretary of Commerce Gary Locke

    11 Secretary of Labor Hilda Solis

    12 Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius

    13 Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Shaun Donovan

    14 Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood

    15 Secretary of Energy Steven Chu

    16 Secretary of Education Arne Duncan

    17 Secretary of Veterans Affairs Eric Shinseki

    18 Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano

  • 9 years ago

    According to the Presidential Succession Act of 1947, if the President of the United States is incapacitated, dies, resigns, is for any reason unable to hold his office, or is removed from office (impeached and convicted), people in the following offices, in this order, will assume the office of the President, provided they are qualified as stated by the Constitution to assume the office of the President:

    Vice President

    Speaker of the House

    President Pro Tempore of the Senate

    Secretary of State

    Secretary of the Treasury

    Secretary of Defense

    Attorney General

    Secretary of the Interior

    Secretary of Agriculture

    Secretary of Commerce

    Secretary of Labor

    Secretary of Health and Human Services

    Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

    Secretary of Transportation

    Secretary of Energy

    Secretary of Education

    Secretary of Veterans Affairs

    Secretary of Homeland Security

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.