How can I get involved in scientific research?

I'm a pre-med undergraduate. I'd really like to get involved in research but it's kind of intimidating asking my professors because they've been studying their field for many years, whereas I've been involved in studying sciences for two years. What do you think would go through a professors mind if a student asked him/her if the professor would help the student get involved in research with them?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

A professor would most likely think, "Oh, here's an undergrad who would like to get involved in research, just like all those hundreds of other undergrads who wanted to get into research I've dealt with over the years. Let me think, can I use him?" And then he'll say either yes or no.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 9 years ago

Most professors are thrilled to get free labor as that is the most expensive component of the project.

Most universities have web pages that talk about the various professors research. You don't necessarily have to go to a professor you already know. If you approach a professor and tell them you are interested in their research and could you work for free--most will be happy to let you.

• Anonymous
    9 years ago