Tips/advice/comments on driving the ALCAN?

In January I will be driving from New Mexico to Anchorage Alaska to attend UAA. I will be driving in an '04 BMW 325xi, which is has all wheel capability, that kicks in automatically. Since this is my first time driving the ALCAN, I don't really know what to expect. I have obviously done research on it and it seems that I MUST pick up the Milepost book. I would appreciate any tips, comments, advice and just some general knowledge on this. Thanks!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I just made that trip a few months ago in a regular sedan.

First, you DON'T need to buy Milepost or any book unless you're paranoid.

There are sections of the Alaska Highway (no one calls it ALCAN anymore) in British Columbia and The Yukon Territory that are not paved completely but they're working on it and you won't have a problem driving those.

Most of the Alaska Highway, and all of it on the Alaska side, is paved, but with a non-traditional coating so it might seem annoying to drive on but you'll get used to it.

My rule, fill up every 2 hours and you won't need to carry extra gas like some others do. There are stretches of 250 miles between certain gas stations so the 2 hour rule is playing it safe.

In British Columbia, gas stations don't pump between 11p and 7a. You shouldn't be driving during those hours anyway.

There are bison (buffaloes are in Africa), moose, black an brown bears and tame horses near or on the highway, mostly in British Columbia and The Yukon. This is why you should not drive after dark on this beautiful highway.

Despite what some may think, you don't need an F-350 dually to drive the Alaska Highway. There are guys on motorcycles driving it so any car will be fine.