Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceTeaching · 9 years ago

Any tips for using the Aesop Substitute System?

I'm a new teacher and just entering the world of substitute teaching. It's the second week of school and I have yet to find any assignments on Aesop, the online substitute placement system. Each day I keep waking up earlier and earlier to check for openings, and today my search started at 4:30am. I keep hitting "search for jobs" but the same message comes up for both school districts I'm enrolled in. At first I wasn't too worried because school was just starting, but I was hoping things would pick up by now. So with that said, any advice or tips for using Aesop? Am I doing this wrong? What are some of the best ways to get substitute jobs?

Thanks for any and all help. The idea of subbing scares me enough, but now I'm afraid I won't ever get a chance to sub!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The amount of jobs available will depend on the size of the district and the amount of subs. I'm a substitute for a semi-large district just outside of Houston, TX and this is my second year. Don't worry about not finding jobs right now. The jobs should start picking up soon because teachers get sick, need a break, and have meetings so they will need more substitutes. From my experience, during the day if I continue searching, I can find jobs that are for days in the future (not within the next day or two). It takes time and patience, but you can find them. Those are also better jobs to take because the teacher is better prepared for having a sub in the class. Sometimes last minute jobs can be chaotic with no lesson plans left for you!