rhubarb asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicJazz · 10 years ago

What do you think the most typical difference between classic players and jazz players?

I started (formal) piano lesson at the age of 5, and being not a really classic player

I started studying jazz only 3 years ago.

My teacher says I got improved. probably right.

However, I do realize there is something very clear about 'being classical vs being jazzy'

NOT from my technique or length of my experience, what would you call that?

'nature', for example?

I'm serious, no harsh messages, please.

Update:

Thanks for rich comments.

If you focus on the PLAYERS themselves,

do you see jazz players more flexible in their character while classic people are a bit stubborn, for example?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

This is a general answer:

1. Classical players do have to do much more effort to master their instrument technically, jazz piano players have to put much more effort to understand the harmony and theory of the music they play. you can say that a jazz pianist is also always a little bit of a arranger of composer, since he for example have to choose how to voice his accompagnyment chords.

Also, because there is not ONE way to play jazz, a jazz player is able to avoid being stuck up with technical problems, he can (till a certain point) avoid to play things he technically is not able to.

An example for this is telonious monk.

2. classical player train to read much more, jazz players train to transcribe and play by ear.

3. Teaching classical music is much more determined and clear than jazz playing, simple for the fact that there is much more history and books of classical music than jazz. Teaching jazz at Music schools began in the 70's, teaching classical music began in the 17 century.