My First Car! Need Some advice!?

Hi im looking to Buy a 1988 Pontiac Fiero GT. I wanted to know Since this car is 22 Years Old If the Guy gets me new Brakes, Tires, Oil Change, New paint job , and More, How long do you thing it will Last me? Im a 17 Year Old student College Starts Next Year and i really want this car. Also What Auto Insurance Can i get for this car? I dont Know How much Miles it has On it yet i will update When i get all the Info. Also Anyone Know Some questions i can ask the man when i decide to buy?

Update:

by the way if this even does matter i live in Connecticut.

Update 2:

The Guy Said when he is done Adding in the new things he will get back to me with more info, thx to everyone that has answered so far, it has got me thinking a lot about what im going to be looking for and asking. Keep Answering ! :D

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

A lot depends on how many miles it has and how it was maintained.

Ask to see the title and note if there are any disclaimers on the mileage. It is a federal crime to tamper with the mileage reading and not report it on the title.

Consider getting a carfax run. It records some issues such as discrepancies in the mileage readings as it has been sold and will let you know how many people or shops have owned it.

Your list of new items are lot of minor things that should have zero impact on the price or reliability. If any of them were not in good condition, you could knock the cost of doing them from the price but they don't add anything since they are just bringing the car to good operating condition.

You don't mention the most important item, how many miles the engine has on it.

I am on my third Formula (88 GT in plain coupe body). They have been quite reliable.

The 2.8 liter 6 is a durable engine.