where do squirrels go in the winter?

16 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

As a Wildlife Biologist, I feel the need to answer this question with more clarity. Tree squirrels (Gray, Red, Fox, etc, etc, etc) DO NOT undergo TRUE hibernation, only a partial state of hibernation more similar to torpor, than true hibernation. As with Black Bears (also frequently mistaken for a true hibernator), their core body temperatures do not drop low enough, and their metabolism does not slow down enough to be considered a TRUE hibernator. In the winter, tree squirrels will become much less active, and remain in their nests in order to conserve body heat and regulate food caches. Ground Squirrels, on the other hand, may undergo a complete state of hibernation. Here in Pennsylvania, the only mammals that are considered TRUE hibernators are the groundhog, non-migratory bats, and our two species of jumping mice (meadow and woodland).

• ?
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

Squirrels In Winter

• 1 decade ago

Squirrels either build nests in the trees in the woods or in trees in people's yards and stay year round. They have an abundance of food stored either in the ground, trees or just take from bird feeders. It is possible that the fox squirrels migrate as they are seldom seen until early spring. However, the cat squirrels are around all through the year. It is not unusual to see cat squirrels hunting for buried nuts in your yard.

Source(s): Missouri Conservationist Magazine and general knowledge.
  • 6 years ago

This Site Might Help You.

RE:

where do squirrels go in the winter?

Source(s): squirrels winter: https://biturl.im/m3oZW
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

"Little black dude" is going to ruin your wiring and possibly burn your house down. Best evitct "Little black dude".