Folding knives as survival knives?

Is a study folding knife like the Cold Steel Voyager or Blackhawk CQD Mk 1 suitable for use as a survival knife? Or should I only consider fixed blades for use as survival knives?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

A fixed blade knife is more durable but in my 27 years of hunting I have never need anything bigger then a 4" folding hunter. I have been lost in the woods over night and did just fine with a folding knife. I am not a survival expert of any kind I am just speaking from experience. When I head into the woods to hunt,camp,or fish I carry more then one knife all the time. I carry a strong folding saw,a small fixed knife with a 2" blade( skinner type) and a 4" folding hunter.I never had a need for a big rambo type knife.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 10 years ago

Most modern high-quality folders have a strong enough lock that I wouldn't rule them out as my only survival knife if compactness were very critical. Personally, I like to have a good quality folder along as well as a strong fixed-blade, like the old Ka-Bar. I also usually carry a Swiss Army Knife in the pack, even though I don't consider their blade as strong, by any means -- however, the can opener, saw & the other things can be very handy in camp.

A lot depends on where you're going to be, the type of undergrowth, how long and how far away from civilization (and help), etc. In thick brush I'd have machete along anyhow, and it's a lot more practical for cutting branches and building shelters than most "knives."

Source(s): 20+yrs in the Army, many years camping & hiking
  • 10 years ago