theists... would you let an atheist teach your kids in school?

25 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

Religion has no place in school, so the beliefs or non belief of the teacher shouldn't enter into the teaching format.

• I think most theists are tolerant. I personally am atheist and would let a theist teach my kids but some like going into religion in class I know, I've been a student and we can't deny that fact that some will show their biases.

• 9 years ago

Sure.

Any atheist that tried to teach my kids about atheism would be just as much in violation of the law as if a Christian teacher taught his students about Christianity, or a Hindu teacher taught his kids about Hinduism (assuming both public school and secular subjects.)

Having said that, my oldest (high school) in is private Christian school, and my youngest (elementary) is in public school.

• 9 years ago

Most of my college students aren't even aware I am an atheist. The quality of the teacher has nothing to do with the teacher's religion, though occasionally you run into science teachers in the south who let their religion interfere with their teaching in a distinctly negative way.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 3 years ago