Should I buy this cake decorating kit/icing kit?

Hi, I'm new to making cakes and I really want to decorate a cake like the bakeries

but the tools are so expensive, such as the plastic icing bags and the tips

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Icing-Bag-Set-Tips-cake-pa... << cheapest I could find is this

Is it durable enough?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

No... it is cheap junk and will not perform... buy quality bags and tips use Wilton and only use metal tips the plastic ones are no good! Keep watching and keep an eye out for a good assortment on Ebay and you can get an complete assortment of cake decorating supples very reasonable make sure you watch the shipping costs Many sellers pad the shipping you may have to be patient but the right price will come along Many of these sellers buy at auctions disbursements, estate sales &garage sales . They pick up tons of stuff for pennies on the dollar EDIT I just checkedout Ebay and there are some Wilton kits available there is one starter kit 32 pieces for 19.99 plus $3.75 for shipping and one cake decorating kit for 11.98 for 18 pieces plus $3.16 shipping I like the strong reusable bags I have 8 inch 10 inch and 12 inch bags I use dawn deterrgent and soak my bags & tips in hot soapy water after using much cheaper than having to keep replacing bags and you have much better control over your decorating then the flimsy plastic bags if the kits do not have couplers you can pick them up cheap at walmart also bags& tips, colors You can also get cake pans at eBay and amazon

• Cathy
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago