promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

what to do with my degree?

I recently graduated with a bachelors degree in electrical engineering and have been applying for jobs in this field since May to no avail. One day, while doing some research, I came across the field of network security engineering, and found a lot of cross over with EE, and job prospects looked better than EE as well. This field fascinated me, as I have always been interested in wireless networks, TCP/IP protocols, etc. Now, I am currently taking classes to get certified in A+, Network+, and plan to do more certs later after I start working. My question is, do you guys think getting certified is worth it, because I have no work experience in the IT field, veen though I do have a good degree? Will these certs help me get an IT-related job or internship? Or should I just continue sitting at home and hoping an EE job opens up one day.....

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Lung
    Lv 4
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Getting certified is worth it, however and I say this to people not double E but the tests can be rough, they are making them adaptive, meaning they find your weaknesses and keep hammering you until you get it wrong. However CISCO, is the network industry leader. An A+ is great because it shows you know the hardware side of thing. Recently, the new A+ exam was changed and now they ask CISCO type questions a little about TCP/IP protocols and even cisco specific questions.

One other thing there are Network security classes take at least one of those. Here in the states we have less expensive colleges/university for adults called community colleges. Teenagers go to high school or a trade school first. A community college gives access to the first 2yrs of University meaning Freshman, and Sophomore, then your junior and senior years are at a traditional University. Yip in America you pay for your own education. Unless you are extremely smart and get a scholarship.