alex asked in SportsGolf · 1 decade ago

Am I Horrible? Seriously Answers and expert/long time golfers only!?

I am 15 years old and started golfing when i was 13. My last outing i Hit a 94 on a par 72. I'm not asking if im ready for the tour but am i bad? I hit 240 with my Driver on a good day at the range, 215 ish with my 3 wood, 185 - 5 wood, 160 - 5i,... 130-pw. again im not asking if im ready for the tour. i want an honest opinion. i have never had lessons im self taught. someone tell me on a scale 1-10 which one being barely hits off the tee and 10 being im ready to hit the tour... ps im not trying to hit the tour i would be fine playing a bar league in my future.

Update:

could you guys tell me if you guys are in an adult league of some sort what you guys hit on an avg weekend? my whole family who plays are either worst then me or dont keep score.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hey man your not bad after only 2 years of playing! it took my 6 years to get my game into the low 80s, so don't expect it to come easy. I have been playing 9 years now and am anywhere from 78-90 so its not a consistent game unless you practice ALOT. Although another poster said distance isn't key, when I get my driver going (305+ in fairway) I can shoot that 78 with 30+ puts which is ridiculous. When I have to hit 3 iron of the tee(230+) It is MUCH harder to hit the green. First, start off with hitting smooth and consistent. When you get consistent high 80's move to swinging faster with less accuracy to put more distance on. Work on that and learn to hit straight with a faster swing. If you keep doing that to where your hitting 20+ more yards you'll see your game get wildly good. For me, I have school and work so I don't have time to get out everyday and practice. You'll get there just keep working! I also have a software program I can slow swings if you want to send a video to me of your swing I can check it out.