Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 9 years ago

What's going on with the Stock Market? Are we at the bottom, or still room to fall?

I know I can't expect anyone to know exactly what's going to happy with the market, but whats the general consensus on where this market is going...overall? I'm not really good with economics and the stock market, I'm a computer science major so yeah i'm more of a computer geek, but I have 17 years of savings in the market and have no idea what to do about re-allocating my money and all that stuff. I keep seeing my statements and I'm still losing money... so are we at the bottom? is there more room to fall? or is there light at the end of the tunnel? Any answers would be appreciated, thanks.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Mike
    Lv 6
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

In my opinion the market is currently fairly priced. That doesn't mean it can't go down another 20% since investors are the most fickle people in the world.

Currently DOW stocks have a p/e ratio of about 12 and pays an average dividend of about 2.85%. The p/e ratio is well below anytime in the past when a bubble occurred and the dividends are higher.

However, because of the uncertainty in the market, it would probably be wise to be defensive by purchasing high dividend blue chip stocks so that if the market declines again, large solid corporations are usually hit the least and the dividends will ease the pain.

In my opinion, the following would be a defensive play.

Purchase the Diamonds ETF (DIA) which follows the DOW, has a very low maintenance fee, a dividend yield of 2.82% and gives you diversity.

After that choose high dividend blue chip stocks (try to pick stocks in different sectors) to bring up the dividend yield such as the following.

AT&T (T - 6.30% dividend)

Verizon (VZ - 6.27% dividend)

Pfizer (PFE - 4.44% dividend)

Eli Lilly (LLY - 5.36% Dividend)

Consolidated Edison (ED - 4.96% dividend)

Duke Energy (DUK - 5.73%)