G asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 10 years ago

does anyone know anything about USAA Bank?

Im a new soldier in the army, im getting stationed in alaska in two weeks.. I want to buy a pick up truck when i get there. But im not sure if i have credit because i didnt pay off a student loan..

But i heard about a way that you can get car loans with out a credit check, and they just take the payment directly out of your military paycheck.. Is this true and how do u do it and what is the interest rate

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

USAA is an awesome bank. I highly recommend it to any military member.

As far as your credit, like any other bank, USAA will run your credit. If you have bad credit it will affect your interest rate or your ability to get the loan at all.

When you refer to taking it out of your military paycheck, that is an allotment. An allotment is merely a convenience for you to have a payment for an existing loan or service taken out of your paycheck and automatically forwarded to your creditor. An allotment is not a loan from the military.

• Login to reply the answers
  • jim
    Lv 7
    10 years ago

Thank you for wishing to serve your country. You do NOT want to take out a loan to get a car. Period. You don't make enough as an E1-E2 to pay that, plus have money for other expenses. If at all possible buy a used vehicle from a private party.

But since that enormous salary Uncle Sam gives you is burning a hole in your pocket.

1- USAA WILL do a credit check, and yes they are absolutely excellent. YOU set up the allotment, not the bank. You can check interest rates on line just go to their website.

2- Your credit's going to suck because

a. You defaulted on a student loan

b. You only make about $12-14K a year

c. You're not a college graduate

d. You're single

e. You're most likely male

f. You will have no money for a down payment.