mroof!
Lv 6
mroof! asked in PetsDogs · 9 years ago

VA Probation Period Question?

I had my interview with a clinic for a vet assistant position and they want me to come in starting for a week of unpaid training.

I'm curious as to whether this is normal (the unpaid training) or not?

Honestly, I don't really mind: But I really want this job and a friend mentioned that some businesses will do that so they can continuously hire unpaid workers (eg. hire me for an unpaid week and then take someone else for an unpaid week). Is this true?

Update:

I should note that I have no prior clinical experience.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

Here is some information you might find helpful-

It does not sound like this job meets the six criteria that would make unpaid training legal.

------

Labor Law And Unpaid Training Time

Unpaid training or unpaid internships is a common, but unreported labor violation. It violates minimum wages and overtime laws. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires payment of minimum wages and additional overtime premium if the individual works more than 40 hours per workweek.

There are many jobsites that prohibit posting of unpaid trainings or unpaid internships. However, some companies makes a deal with the applicant to work for free for a stable job in the future. Some companies also require an individual to engage in unpaid internship as part of the college program.

Unpaid training is legal if no work is performed that is of any benefit to the company. For instance, an individual in an unpaid training program cannot conduct market research, sort files or file papers, write company reports, deliver mails or in any other job that helps an employers in running his or her business.