Is it possible for a Wiccan to disbelieve in reincarnation?

This question is aimed at Traditional or non-fluffy, knowledgeable Eclectic Wiccans. I've been studying paganism (particularly Wicca) for two years now. I've been struggling as to whether I should dedicate myself to Wicca for a while now. I consider myself a pagan, but all my practices and beliefs reflect that of a Wiccan with the exception of belief in reincarnation. I've yet to find a Wiccan that does not believe in souls or reincarnation, so I do not know if it would be reasonable to dedicate myself to a Wiccan path with my disbelief. I feel strongly about disrespecting a religion by assuming a title and then throwing away tenets that do no suit you. So I'd like to have opinions about whether belief in reincarnation is core to Wicca.

Thanks for taking time to read and all serious replies.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Reincarnation isn't actually a core tenet of Wicca. It's something that some Wiccans believe.

I've been Wiccan for over 20 years, and I do not believe in an afterlife. The gods have made it very clear that this life is important, so if there is an afterlife, it's not important, and there is no point in fretting over something that is both unimportant and not within our control.

We are told to observe the universe for answers to questions. When an apple falls from a dying apple tree and grows into a new tree, that takes the old one's place, is it the *same* apple tree it fell from? NO. We are a natural religion, why would we think otherwise?

As I have said in the past, fretting over an afterlife is like standing in the street, with a truck barreling down at 55mph, ready to hit you, and pausing to consider what you might have for breakfast tomorrow.

A good Wiccan knows that dealing with the truck (this life) is what matters, not something that may or may not happen, especially if we don't deal with this life.