Some advice for dealing w/separation anxiety?

I have 5 children. My 3rd born will be starting preschool in the fall, so I sent him to a summer camp week to get familiar w/the school and staff. The first day he was fine, after that, not so much. He was having some serious separation anxiety and would throw out any excuse not to go, and have crazy tantrums at drop off.

At any rate, my question is does anyone have any suggestions for my husband and I to try for our sons anxiety. He is already saying school is stupid and does not want to go. My older 2 never had a problem with staying at school so this is all brand new to us.

I would appreciate ANY suggestions, and thank all who answer in advance.

PS- I was a preschool teacher for 10 years before I had my own children, so I have dealt w/this situation on the other side, it is just SO different when it is your own child going through this.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Mac S
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, I hope I'm not the only one who'll at least try to help here. Geez. You mention the first day was good (great!), but after - not so good (bummer): I'm gonna assume you and/or hubby talked w/ your boy about anything that happened on day one that may have made him uncomfortable when he started acting up. Hopefully nothing, but kids that age don't know how to express themselves all that well, especially w/ new concepts that are difficult to describe. The follow-up, speaking w/ the staff to see if they saw signs of trouble with your boy's behaviour, OR his classmate's behaviour, is always a good idea. Although complete honesty from staff in the DC, PK, and even K arenas can be elusive..."Oh! Little Johnny was great!" <--Anyway, all that is just about trying to figure out the problem, sometimes impossible. Ain't parenting great!

Installments 4 this I guess ?