Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelCruise Travel · 1 decade ago

When is the best time for me to book cruise? Should I wait?

Planning to cruise out of NYC on April 16. Should I book now or wait for deals? It is April vacation week here in New England but, Norwegian has a Nickolodean cruise the day after (17th) so I am thinking families may book that cruise instead. What do you think? Now or wait until 60-90 days from cruise date to get a better deal? Thanks!

Update:

I am a first time cruiser so I have no experience with this.

Update 2:

My dates are really not that flexible..I work at a school and I am on vacation as well. It is my honeymoon also.

Update 3:

thanks everyone...cruise compete is where I have found the lowest price thus far...plus paid gratuities which is another $140 savings. Going to just book next week as I had planned.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

As your dates aren't flexible, I'd suggest you go ahead and book it now to make sure you get exactly what you want.

Enjoy!

Source(s): Cruise Video: Book Your Cruise Early or Book it Late? http://www.cruisecompete.com/video_book_your_cruis...
  • 1 decade ago

If you have your heart set on a particular cruise, and/or you want a particular cabin, book as soon as possible.

Sometimes prices do go down, especially at final payment date, because people who had booked the cruise decide that they don't want to go and cancel their reservation, freeing up capacity. If demand is not strong, the cruise line may drop prices to try to sell the cabins.

HOWEVER, prices don't always go down. My next cruise is in about a month; we booked it back in March '09. Prices went up steadily after that, to the point where earlier this year, the few interior cabins remaining were selling for more than the balcony we booked. Prices did come down some this week, but not to the price we paid, and there are few cabins to select from.

• ?
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago