? asked in Family & RelationshipsFamily · 1 decade ago

Am I wrong to feel this way about my father?

Ever since my parents got divorced four years ago, my father and I have not been very close. We've gone through periods where we've gotten along, but recently we do not at all. He has a new family and rarely calls me (though he occasionally texts me, even though I have told him I don't like it and would rather him call). I don't want to go into our whole relationship as it is a long story, but just know that he is pretty self absorbed and immature, and does not make a great effort to be involved in my life. We are like fire and ice- to me, he is a somewhat repulsive person. Put it this way: I love him because he is my father, but I do not like him as a person. I am about to leave for college in two weeks and he probably does not even know what my major is, much less what classes I am taking. He hasn't asked me once about everything my mom and I are doing to prepare (I am flying across country so it is a big move). I sometimes wonder if he even thinks about me, what with a new pseudo-wife and son in his life.

He lives with his family 15 minutes from me so it's not like distance is a separating factor here. I have told him what upsets me before, most of the time in kind watered down terms because he gets very defensive and abrasive whenever I broach it (he feels like I criticize him all the time, which I do because he is ridiculous and rude to most people). Once a few weeks ago I broke down and told him in the bluntest manner everything that has bothered me about him since the divorce. I admit I was harsh, but it was the only way to get through to him because usually he just yells back at me. You'd think after that he would try to improve on some of the things I mentioned, but alas, no.