the law states you can only tint 6 inches or less at the top of the front windshield . any tint that reaches down wither than that is illegal. always go with the law. also you can go back to the company who tinted the windshield and get you money back as they did it illegally . they can loose there business license for doing it .
Here is current law !!
Window Tinting and Illinois Safety Laws
Tinting is allowed in Illinois provided it conforms to the following car tint restrictions:
■Windshield: Non-reflective window tint is allowed on the top six inches.
■Front side windows: Car tint must allow more than 35% of light through the window.
■Back side windows: Auto tinting must allow more than 35% of light through the window.
■Rear Window: Window tint must allow more than 35% of light through the window.
If you're unfamiliar with this term, imagine mirrored sunglasses.
■Front side windows: Non-reflective only.
■Back side windows: Non-reflective only.
Miscellaneous Tint Law Regulations
■Restricted Colors: No color restrictions.
■Side mirrors: Dual side mirrors required if back has tint.
■Sticker requirements: No decal identifying legal tinting is required.
IL Tint Laws and Penalties
Because there is no annual safety inspection in Illinois you cannot be denied vehicle registration due to tinted windows.
You can, however, be fined. Being caught with illegal tinting carries an initial fine of no less than $50. Any subsequent violation is treated as a Class C misdemeanor and comes with a minimum penalty of $100. Chicago, however, takes a more ironhanded stance, charging tint law violators $250.
I do window tinting so i get a copy of all laws for all 50 states so i can comply to them .