promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

As a beginner, how can I get started with boating with nobody to teach me?

I have no boating experience and don't know anyone who even owns a boat. I would like to buy a used boat on craigslist and start taking it out on the water but I'd really like to know what I'm doing and how to test out a boat before buying it. How can I get started with this and make sure I'm not overlooking anything?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I suggest (before you buy anything, of course) you visit some Marinas in your area. But before you go snooping around, go introduce your self to the people that own or run the Marina and basically tell them what you just told us. With any luck at all, they will hook you up with someone that will give you an introduction to boats & boating.

In addition, many Marinas off boating & sailing lessons. Usually an introduction lesson is either free or only cost a small "introductory" token fee ($20.00 or so).

You don't mention a price range... but if it is a decent amount (say $10,000 or more) then if I were in your shoes - I would go to a "certified boat broker". You will have two BIG advantages in doing this... 1.) he (or she) will find you a good seaworthy vessel in your price range, and they will make sure it is a verifiable boat in good condition. 2.) he (or she) will also take you out in the boat and teach you how to run it, maneuver it in and out of docks, back it up, and all about how to check and maintain it.