California law concerning lemonade stands?
I'm a kid in California (more specifically San Leandro) and I was wondering what the law was concerning lemonade stands. I've sold lemonade for a couple of years, but this time I decided to do a little research on tips and stuff and I came across stories about kids getting fined. Is there anything in particular I need to know?
- 9 years agoBest Answer
I don't know of any actual state laws in California regarding this matter, but I can understand municipalities (local governments) having certain restrictions in place, which typically is for everyone's safety.
For example, a lot of localities prohibit sales at the side of a busy road, which is to avoid potential accidents and injuries.
My best suggestion would be for you or a parent/guardian to contact someone on Monday from your City Hall or County Government and just ask if there are any local rules regarding running a lemonade stand. They'll be more than happy to help you out (Given that is what they are paid to do).
I certainly wish you the very best and enjoy yourself.
- PooPooLaTrashLv 79 years ago
Call the Contra Costa County Health Department and see if you need a license or permit.
- 9 years ago
As long as it not hard lemonade.