Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesDancing · 1 decade ago

Does dancing help overcome shyness?

I’m a shy 24 year old guy and always have been shy all my life. I’ve decided to go for Latin and ballroom dance lessons because I heard it helps you gain confidence. I’ve been going for 2 months and am still learning, but even though I’m starting to be a tad more comfortable dancing with girls, I still feel shy. Maybe it just takes time, I don’t know.

For those that go for Latin/Ballroom dance lessons, did dancing help you overcome your shyness? If so, how long did it take before you finally started opening up?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I do not take Latin/Ballroom dance lessons, but I do take Pointe, Ballet, Tap, Jazz, and Hip-Hop and I have been dancing for the past 5 years.

I was EXTREMELY shy when I began dance, but now, I am sooooooooooooo out going and I talk to everyone in class and it is all because of dance!

It took me 5 years to become out going, but others are different. Just have fun and do not worry!

Happy Dancing!

Source(s): I am going in to my 6th year of dance this fall
  • 1 decade ago

YES! I used to be very shy and reserved before I started dancing. Now I can pretty much keep up a conversation with anyone, and I'm not afraid to! I decided it was time to come out of my shell, so I just started talking to all the other girls in my dance classes and made a ton of friends. Dance is definitely something that can help you with not only your shyness, but also your self-confidence. It feels great to be on stage and it's wonderful that as a 24 year old guy, you're not afraid to get up and dance!

Source(s): dancer
  • 1 decade ago

I began doing competetive jazz and musical theater dances four days a week and my confidence upped itself probably at least 300%. Good luck!

• Anonymous
    4 years ago

Eliminate Social Anxiety Shyness - http://SocialAnxiety.uzaev.com/?uMQr