How do I cook a small chicken for the first time?

I want to make a real meal for my roommates tonight cause all we've had the past two months is boxed and microwavable junk. There's a small 4lb chicken in the fridge but I'm not sure how to make it. I'm gonna serve it with steamed broccoli and maybe stove top or rice or something if I can it.

But what do I do with the chicken? What do I do with the gross stuff inside it? What's the best way to prepare it if I've never done it before?

Also, there's an issue of how fresh it is. It's been in the fridge since the 9th and the sell by date is July 12th (today's the 18th).

...help?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Misty
    Lv 6
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Here are phone #'s and e-mail of the USDA/United States Department of Agriculture-Food and Safety.

What Types of Food Are Dated?

Open dating is found primarily on perishable foods such as meat, poultry, eggs and dairy products. "Closed" or "coded" dating might appear on shelf-stable products such as cans and boxes of food.

Types of Dates

* A "Sell-By" date tells the store how long to display the product for sale. You should buy the product before the date expires.

* A "Best if Used By (or Before)" date is recommended for best flavor or quality. It is not a purchase or safety date.

* A "Use-By" date is the last date recommended for the use of the product while at peak quality. The date has been determined by the manufacturer of the product.

* "Closed or coded dates" are packing numbers for use by the manufacturer.

Safety After Date Expires