Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicPolls & Surveys · 1 decade ago

Is bass easy to pick up?

I've been playing guitar for 5 years. I'm a pretty good guitarist but I really want to learn to play the bass.

Will my being a guitarist help me naturally learn?

18 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

This is kind of a weird answer, Bass will be as easy as you want it to be or as hard as you want it to be. The thing is, it all depends on you. Many modern bass players limit themselves by only playing simple repetative eighth notes over and over. This is very easy to learn, i tought a 10 year old how to do it in an hour.

However, if you are willing to put in the time you can do phenominal things on the bass most people never hear. The best example I can give is geddy lee. Because he is in a three man group he has to do more to fill in. Here's a cover of one of his riffs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHPhyRyGAfc

Youtube thumbnail

Anyone who says thats easy to do is lying...With a bass you must remember the thick neck kills your speed, you being a guitar you probibly can climb up and down a scale fairly quickly....now imagine doing that on something twice as big.

With time and practice I know you could, like I said it's as easy as you make it ;)

p.s. ignore these people saying there's no such thing as bass chords....they are used but it's very rare. Listen to this song starting at 1:59. at 2:03 you will hear a couple of bass chords

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6rDWqjnW7w

Youtube thumbnail

• Anonymous
    5 years ago