Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Family & RelationshipsFamily · 1 decade ago

Turning 18 next month and extremely motivated in regards to getting out of my parents house *tips and info plz?

I turn 18 in August and will be starting community college in the same month as a freshmen. I have lived with my parents for my whole life and have always been provided for and am grateful for it, yet I always feel controlled and supressed because "they know whats best for me". Long story short, I'm indebted to my parents for raising me well but I feel like it is my time to go.

Like I said, I will just legally become an adult in august. So the problem I have is getting my butt on track in able to pay for everything. I've just started my second job two weeks ago and work as a cashier making 7.50 starting out hoping I can get paid more with hard work. My first job I work in a restaurant/cafe setting making 7.75.

I also go to college full time

The rooms around me are going for 400-600 with utilites included and I can eat balanced and healthy at my jobs for 2-4 dollars a meal. otherwise im eating the staples at home.

I'm used to working hard and doing what needs to be done in order to get things out of the way. Hell, If need be I'll sleep in my car or anywhere else I can find and take showers in bathrooms: thats how badly I want to move out.

btw insurance for me is around 200 and gas would be 40-50 a week for the used lexus mid sized suv that I worked for myself by washing cars and mowing lawns in the neighborhood at 16.

Update:

At my first job I prepare food, and in FL unfortunately that is what they pay minors :(

Update 2:

At my first job I prepare food, and in FL unfortunately that is what they pay minors :(

Update 3: