I always do this in my stories and I don't know when to use them?

I always use "was" in my stories but "was" is a past tense. I mix them with my present sentences.

For example:

"After I got my paper I sat back down at the computer. The room was silent except for the sound of people typing."

I use was in a sentence but I want it to be present. Would I use "the room is silent"?

For some reason I tend to do that A LOT in my stories and I try to train myself to stop doing that. I also don't know when to use is and was. Sometimes when I use is it doesn't sound right unless I use was etc.

Can someone help and explain?

(As you can see I am not that good at literature because the school I use to go to was very low in grammar etc. But I'm going somewhere else this year and hope to get better)

- Thanks

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Mudkip
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

"After I got my paper I sat back down at the computer. The room was silent except for the sound of people typing."

This is correct, actually. Since the rest of the sentence is in the past tense, "was" should also be in the past tense. If you wanted to put the entire sentence into the present tense, it would be:

"After I get my paper I sit back down at the computer. The room is silent except for the sound of people typing."

The only reason you should avoid "was" or "is" is that often, people use it when there are better words. That it's in the past tense is not an issue, but that it is in the passive IS an issue. To take it out of the passive, you would say:

"Silence filled the room except for the sound of people typing."

• If you want that sentence in present tense, then it should be like this:

"After I get my paper, I sit back down at the computer. The room is silent except for the sound of people typing."