Why do Mexican born Mexicans hate American born Mexicans so much?

As a 4th generation born Mexican American, its already difficult enough being in an all White society that stereotypes you, but its even worse being hated by your own race. Why such animosity?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

As a Mexican who is actually from Mexico, I can tell you that the great majority of us do not hate American born Mexicans. On the contrary to what someone here said, we are not jealous of the fact that they have "papers" to live in the United States (or at least most of us aren't). Let's get this straight; the majority of Mexicans have no interest in migrating to the United States. I have papers, I am currently studying in the US, and honestly, I like living in Mexico better (I still think the US is a great country though).

And no, we are not poorer than American-born Mexicans either. There are many Mexican-Americans who are below the poverty line and a lot of rich people in Mexico. It's sad to see how many stereotypes there are about Mexico and its people even today. Please do not judge us based of what you see on illegal immigrants. Most people who come to the United states illegally are poor, uneducated (and for some reason, a lot of them are dark-skinned with indigenous features) and do not at all represent the majority of Mexicans.

And by the way, it does not bother me at all if they "act white", whatever that means.

One of the things that I do dislike about American born Mexicans is the horribly incorrect Spanish that *some* of them speak. But other than that I don't see any reason to hate others based on where they were born.

To Garcia: " i truly do feel sorry for mexican born mexicans

the whole country is corrupt and they also lack many opportunities".