Which of these 2 surfboards is best for me?

Basically, I am kind of new to surfing. But I am looking to get a shortboard. But I don't know what size I should get. I have 2 that I can get for a pretty low price.

Board 1: 6'3, and 2.5 inches thick. I don't know how wide it is. Here is a link to it: http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/spo/1812985379....

Board 2: 6'8, I don't know how wide, or thick it is. heres a link to it: http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/spo/1817874905....

Which one should I get? Supposedly the first board has pressure dents on deck, and a couple of minor repairs. The second board has a crack at the bottom near the tail that the guy is going to repair for me before he gives it to me.

BTW, I am 6'0, and weigh 174.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • John F
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

First of all, don't listen to fanmore. A 'short board" is a description based on overall size and design and usually (in modern short boards) have a three fin 'thruster" fin set up. Older short baords going back to the 70s will have single or twin fin configuratuions, but the are still "short" and have a distinctive high perfomance design. Fun boards are mid length boards that are thicker, wider and shaped more like a long board, and offer a more stable ride, and are often used as a transition surfboard between a beginners long board and short board.

I have gotten fed up with people who ask beginners questions one week, and then the next week feel that they should giving people advice on this site. It is not fair to the folks who ask the questions. 13 year olds who have only been surfing for 2 or 3 years shouldn't be leading people astray.