Since so many people think they know what they're talking about, I'll post the law to prove them wrong. In Texas, the only reason a minor can be tattooed, with consent, is if it's to cover an already existing tattoo, but the existing tattoo has to be considered offensive, and you have to go through a lot to get it approved. Read the law below.
RULE §229.406 Client Qualifications, Disclosure, and Records
(a) Except as permitted in subsections (c) and (d) of this section, a client must be a minimum of 18 years of age and shall present at the time of tattooing or body piercing a valid, government issued, positive identification card including, but not limited to, a driver's license, passport, or military identification. The identification must contain a photograph of the individual and a printed date of birth.
(b) The artist shall verify and document in the permanent client record the client's age, date of birth, and the type of identification provided.
(c) An artist may not tattoo a person younger than 18 years of age without consent from the individual's parent or guardian, who determines it to be in the best interest of the minor child to cover an existing tattoo.
(1) The existing tattoo must contain:
(A) obscene or offensive language or symbols;
(B) gang-related names, symbols, or markings;
(C) drug-related names, symbols, or pictures; or
(D) some other type of words, symbols or markings that the court considers would be in the best interest of the minor to cover.
(2) The consent required by subsection (c) can be satisfied by:
(A) a written and notarized consent by the individual's parent or guardian which shall contain:
(i) the full name, address, and telephone number of the client;
(ii) the full name, address, and telephone number of the parent or guardian;
(iii) a detailed description or photograph of the tattoo to be covered;
(iv) the location on the body of the tattoo to be covered; and
(v) the signatures of minor and parent or guardian; or
(B) the individual's parent or guardian:
(i) being physically present at the time the tattooing is being performed;
(ii) executing an affidavit stating that the person is the parent or guardian of the individual on whom the tattooing is being performed;
(iii) presenting evidence of the minor's identity to the artist; and
(iv) presenting evidence of the status as parent or guardian of the individual who will receive the tattoo to the artist.
(3) If a parent or guardian of the minor child and the minor child agree to the covering of the tattoo as described in subsection (c)(1) of this section, the artist may request the issuance of an order from a justice court.
(4) If the parent or guardian and the minor child do not agree to the covering of a tattoo by a artist, then an order must be issued by a district court or other court with jurisdiction of a suit affecting the parent-child relationship or a civil proceeding brought under Title 3 or 4 of the Texas Family Code before an artist may cover the minor child's tattoo.
Shop owner, in the business 15 years.