promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

I hired a contractor to stain my deck, he didn't clean the deck and just applied stain directly..?

Now the deck looks like crap, its a brownish color, and there are area's where the stain is so heavy it's shiny, and the dirt is now trapped under the stain. It extremely dingy looking, Anything I can do? When I asked him why he didn't clean he stated power washing or using bleaches shorten the lifespan of the deck, and while it doesn't look great it now protected. What can I do, is my deck ruined? He used Olympic oil based toner.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

he being the expert is right about power washing but he prob should have sweeped it or maby hit it with some sand paper i would think then stained it, im not an expert not even close but common sence tells me that he just did it half *** to get it done. i would think if u sanded the stain down than re stained it it would look better but it would be alot of work

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

That's what's called a real "Botch Job".

Your deck should have been thoroughly cleaned with deck wash and a pressure-washer. Then left to dry completely before any kind of stain was applied. Not to mention those areas were your contractor left the stain, to forming heavy blotches or spots. Any excess stain should have been wiped away immediately.

The only thing you can do now is to sand it down and refinish it the correct way. It may turn out okay but you won't know until all the sanding is complete. To look it's best, you should remove as much of the stain you can. If the old stuff is left on it will show through the new stain, leaving blotchy dark spots in the finish. You may have to hire another "contractor" to repair this "contractors" botch job.