Best way to learn day trading from home?

How do you learn how to day trade from home? I want to trade for a living from my house. I know it is possible. What are the best books to read and what are the best websites to use? Thanks!

Update:

Maybe I should rephrase that, "swing trade" or short term trades, is what I mean.

25 Answers

Relevance
  • Len
    Lv 7
    10 years ago
    Best Answer

I day trade frequently.

It is a commonly held misconception that you can learn to day trade via published materials. This is why most day traders lose their money and defensively complain about market manipulation. Periodicals abound on the subject because there's money to be made putting out nonsensical reading materials, all of which purport to prepare the buyers of such materials for an unlimited earnings career. It is absurd, to say the least. And some Internet pitches go so far as to spiel a half page of utter nonsense such as you'll find on this page from another responder.

There is just one way to become a profit-oriented day trader:

Pick a bunch of stocks that show decent volatility and get to know them as well as you do your own face. This means track every last news item out there on each pick. Track the volume changes throughout the day, hour by hour and more if your lifestyle permits. Log into a journal the opening bids, the last price of the closing trade and highs + lows of each trading day for each stock pick.

When the market opens in the morning, you must be able to see in an instant where the opening bid sits and recognize the difference from the previous close. Decisions to buy or sell or maintain positions must be quick as a flash.

Day trading is most profitable when you see the news unfolding and know the trading ranges well enough to anticipate trend reversals. Then it's a matter of your ability to relate to momentum within the confines of trading and incorporate this with an intimate view of volumetric changes.