promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationMotorcycles · 1 decade ago

beginner motorcycle, sport bike 250cc vs. 600cc?

I am 6'2'' 205lbs. I drive on all roads and want a sport bike. I have very little experience and will not be riding at 100mph on the shoulder. I know that a 250cc is easier to handle and learn how to ride. However, I have heard that it is not smart for a larger person who wants to ride on highways. what are your thoughts? Thank you for the advice.

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You are thinking about this all wrong.

People are under the impression that Sportbikes are all the same except 250s are for beginners 600s are intermediate and 1000s are for experts. Theres much more too it than that.

Motorcycles are highly specialized tools. A shotgun is for fouling, a .270 for deer hunting, a .45 for defense etc. There are no beginner guns, though there are user friendly ones. Bikes are the same way.

You are looking into R6, 600RR GXS-R, ZX-6R etc right? They are highly focused track tools. You want a fun transportation device. Thats like using an uzi to hunt deer.

Without knowing your proficiency, intended use or budget its hard to make a suggestion.

Look into The Suzuki GS500F and GSX650F.

They are stylish, pretty entertaining, comfortable and frugal.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Ming
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago