What is a good dish to bring to a block party? Recipes and idea's welcome...?

My husband and I moved into our new house about 2 months ago. We have met most of the neighbors on our street and so far we love them all! Most of the neighbors have been living in their houses for 30+ years.

Well the neighbors across the street from me decided they wanted to have a block party on our street.. They handed out invitations to everyone on the street and they are providing the meats (ribs, chick, hamburgers, & hotdogs) but they are requesting that everyone else provide a covered dish or a side dish, etc.

I am a pretty good cook, but I don't want to bring just some boring pasta salad or potato salad so i was just looking for some suggestions on what I coudl bring for the block party.

I'm open to difficult or different recipes as well.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Here are some great recipes:

Cocktail Pigs in a Blanket

Fun little bites - perfect for a party. These easy to make snacks are made with hot dogs & crescent rolls. Add Pigs In a Blanket to your lineup of snacks for your next super bowl party.

1 package small cocktail wieners

1/2 cup shredded colby jack cheese

2 packages crescent rolls

favorite barbecue sauce for dipping

Unroll crescent rolls. Cut each crescent roll into thirds, making 3 small, long triangle strips. Sprinkle shredded cheese over triangles. Starting at one end, roll hot dogs in crescent. Place on greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with barbecue sauce or ketchup for dipping.

=======================

Mini Mexican Corn Bread

Use the mini muffin pans

Take your favorite cornbread mix & mix in Pepper jack cheese & sharp cheddar cheese, diced mild green chilies & top with a few shreds of cheese on top.

==========================

Apple Fritters

Yields: 24 Servings

2 cups Bisquick

2/3 cup milk

1 egg, just add

2 cups apples (chopped small)