Can someone please help me with my jetta 2002?

hello. I had recently graduated fron high school and as a gift i got a jetta 2002. the first day in the screen there was this orange light turning on. its right next to the 20 in the speed monitor. and im really worried about it. it looks like a faucet and i dont want to move it. i went to the mechanic and told me it was the motor...PLEASE HELP ME im not an expert at this i will apreciated

5 Answers

Relevance
  • fenton
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

OK I have a Warning Light Booklet right in front of me. The closest thing to a 'faucet' is an oil container with a spout; at the end of the spout is a drop of liquid.

In this '06 booklet this lite in red means that engine oil pressure is low. If its yellow, the engine oil level is too low.

Either way check your oil level. If its OK then the problem could be a blocked/dirty oil filter or the oil pump is worn. An oil starved engine will not last for long.

Source(s): VW booklet
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Faucet? Go to the library and get a book on repair and maintenance of VW Jettas or Rabbits or Golfs any year fairly close and take a quick glance through it. You are not gonna find an owners manual.

You either are looking for dash lights (which may be in the front index) or warning lights. or indicator lights. And look them up for cooling system.

It "could" be low on coolant(your overflow container could be dry-which it never should be)-meaning the radiator could be also low,or low on windshield washer fluid .

Those are the only things I can think of that use "water" >which comes out of a tap(or faucet) And "water" used to be the only coolant they used to cool motors in the past.

It is not a waste of time. You learn it once, you know it forever.

If the warning was in words, how good is your German?