Need a Farmer's Advice for Storing Beans?

This is my first year growing Lima Beans, String Beans, Peas, and Yellow Mushroom Beans. I only have a few of each planted because I am not sure how they grow. I guess I am experimenting this year. My question is:

What is the best way to harvest and store each?

I have done some research online and I like the idea of drying my Lima and Mushroom beans. I don't know what to do with my String Beans, though. I can't imagine drying them, and I am not growing enough to make a meal with fresh ones all at once (at this point I only pick about 2-4 fresh beans at a time). How can I keep them until I have enough to make a dish with them?

I have not had any Peas grow yet, and only 1 of my Pea plants sprouted for me. Can I dry these as well until I have enough for a meal?

Thank you for your advice!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Rich
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer