Gummy Bear asked in SportsRunning · 10 years ago

About how many miles does the average cross country team run?

I am an incoming freshman and I want to know how far we run during practices. Last time I went for a run, I went 3 and a half miles. Is that enough for freshman cross country?

Thanks

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Mileage really depends on where you are as a runner and where you are as a team. Typically in the beginning of the season, you won't be running too many miles; maybe like 3-5 everyday (3 for beginners and 5 for the more experienced runners), then towards the peak of the season (approaching post-season), you'll really be increasing your mileage (maybe like 6-9). After that, if your team makes it to post-season, the mileage should drop back down to similar distances in the beginning of the season.

But also, the mileage will probably vary a little depending on what division your team runs on.

• Anonymous
    10 years ago

In my freshman year we went up to 9 miles.

We had one day in my sophomore year that we went 14 miles, though this was on a saturday and we brought water in our coach's car.

Prepare yourself by being able to run up to 4 miles with a single stop at the 2 mile mark to stretch some more and do some sprints. Before I quit out of hatred of waking up at 5 am to run during summer, we would run a couple miles up into the hills, then do a bunch of repeats; that's sprinting a certain distance, and jogging at a normal pace back down. Then you have about two seconds to really breathe, and you're sprinting back up the hill. It took a couple weeks to get used to in my freshman year, but most of us got used to it.

Practice is slower pace though, unless you intend to kick *** during meets. Meets are a standard 3 miles in which a good time is under 18 minutes. I barely broke 20 at my best before I started ditching the meets.

• 10 years ago