Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesBooks & Authors · 1 decade ago

Where can I read Bhagavad Gita online?

3 Answers

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Bhagavad Gita online

    Bhagavad Gita is a concise guide to Hindu theology and also as a practical, self-contained guide to life. It represents a summary of the Vedantic and Upanishadic teachings, it is also called "Veda of the Vedas" and "the Upanishad of the Upanishads".

    The main philosophical subject matter of the Bhagavad Gita is the explanation of five basic concepts or "truths":

    Ishvara (The Supreme Controller)

    Jiva (Living beings/the individualized soul)

    Prakrti (Nature/Matter)

    Dharma (Duty in accordance with Divine law)

    Kaala (Time)

    Krishna counsels Arjuna on the greater idea of dharma, or universal harmony and duty. Krishna expounds the various Yoga processes and understanding of the true nature of the universe. Krishna describes the yogic paths of devotional service, action as a selfless service to mankind, meditation and knowledge.

    Fundamentally, the Bhagavad Gita proposes that true enlightenment comes from growing beyond identification with the temporal ego, the 'False Self', the ephemeral world, so that one identifies with the truth of the immortal self, the absolute soul or Atman. Through detachment from the material sense of ego, the Yogi, or follower of a particular path of Yoga, is able to transcend his/her illusory mortality and attachment to the material world and enter the realm of the Supreme.

    The Gita addresses the discord between the senses and the intuition of cosmic order. It speaks of the Yoga of equanimity, a detached outlook. The term Yoga covers a wide range of meanings, but in the context of the Bhagavad Gita, describes a unified outlook, serenity of mind, skill in action and the ability to stay attuned to the glory of the Self (Atman) and the Supreme Being (Bhagavan).

    According to Krishna, the root of all suffering and discord is the agitation of the mind caused by selfish desire. The only way to douse the flame of desire is by simultaneously stilling the mind through self-discipline and engaging oneself in a higher form of activity.

    Krishna summarizes the Yogas through eighteen chapters. Three yogas in particular have been emphasized by commentators:

    Bhakti Yoga or Devotion,

    Karma Yoga or Selfless Action

    Jnana Yoga or Self Transcending Knowledge

  • 1 decade ago I think this is a good site. It has audio as well. The text is all in English

    Source(s): Google
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.