What career choice should I choose?

I have an MBA from Harvard. What career choice should I choose?

1. Work at Goldman Sachs as an Associate in NYC.

2. Start a record label and be CEO.

3. Work at MTV Networks (Viacom) I interned there and loved it!!

4. Work at Sony Music Entertainment.

5. Start a wealth managment company and be CEO.

Which one pays the most? Which one is the best?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If you really have an MBA from Harvard, I would be shocked to think you didn't already have a solid choice as to what career you wanted.

1# Sounds like a solid idea, but getting the connections to get the job may be tricky as far as the current job market goes.

2# Is near impossible. You'd have a lot better luck just working for a currently existing label. Starting your own label, and actually being successful are two different things, and they almost never follow each other.

3# Sounds like the most sensible choice here. If you've already interned there, you can tell them that, and put it on your resume. If they know you have experience in the field you want, and even better, experience with THEIR company, you already have a big leg up from a lot of other applicants for any job they have to offer. Plus, working for a big company like that offers opportunities for promotions and other great things.

4# Sounds the same as 3#, but if you were to choose between this and 3#, I wouldn't go for Sony. My advice is only in terms of actually getting the job. If you WANT to work at Sony over Viacom, I say go for it. But your internship with Viacom is a big leg up; one that you do not have in this case.

5# Only the slightest more possible than choice 2#, and yet, still dead near impossible.