Tema
Lv 5
Tema asked in Cars & TransportationCar MakesHonda · 10 years ago

Can I convert my 1997 Honda Civic to Electric?

I would like to know if there's any way to convert a 1997 manual, four-door Honda Civic to run off electric? It's a small car and I'm wondering if I can have this done? If so, where/who? I'm sick of paying high gas prices, lol! No, actually I want to be a better, greener world citizen.

PLEASE, any links are very much appreciated. Thanks!

Update:

Also, how $$$ much am I looking at to do this?

Update 2:

Ok, there are some valid comments about the "greeness" of this idea. That said, I still don't support the use of gas as it's overuse today. Rather than debate my politics, perhaps some people will be kind enough to simply answer the question w/o being rude or insulting. I'm no expert, that's why I'm starting here with the Yahoo! Forum. Thanks again.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • SoCal
    Lv 6
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

TBH: For you no. The skills required and the money involved to do it prove it's not worth it. In the end it will have been more effective to just go out and buy a new hybrid/electric vehicle.

It can be done though, I've seen some crazy conversions done to cars but the people who did them were highly skilled, had access to a lot of precision tools and shops, a lot of funds to do it, and a lot of time to do it (I'm talking months to years).

"I'm no expert, that's why I'm starting here with the Yahoo! Forum. "

TBH again, this is why it won't work out for you. You need to be an expert for this to work and a Y! forum is the worst place to start or get help with a huge project.

• 10 years ago

Not really possible.

You would spend much more money converting this old car to electric than you would spend on a brand new electric car.

So if you have your heart set on an electric car you may want to buy a new Nissan Leaf or wait a bit and get a new Chevy Volt.