Can he sue me for rent when he hasn’t informed me that I owe rent?

I’m a recent graduate who (like many others) haven’t found a permanent job yet. I do have a temporary job but it barely covers my student loans (around $1500 per month). Because of this I have been living with my Dad for the past 10 months. My Dad’s house is under my Grandmothers name and my Dad has lived there for 15 years. Around December of last year my Grandmother was forced to give her power of attorney to my Uncle and since then things have been going haywire. My Dad and Uncle constantly fight. My Uncle thinks that my Dad has always gotten a free ride and states that my Dad should pay Grandma (really Uncle) more money to live in the house. My Uncle has cut off the security alarm (my Dad was paying for it but it was in my Grandmother’s name) and has tried to take my Dad to court for the money that Dad spent on the furnace (Dad paid $700 of his own money for a new furnace and my Uncle wants the money that my Dad spent on the furnace stating that it belong to grandma). My Uncle has also spread rumors that I stole money from Grandma and that I have physically threatened my Dad which he believes is the reason for Dad not give him the $700.

This mess goes on non stop and I think that they are both idiots. Today, I found out that my Uncle is trying to taking me to court for rent that he thinks I owe(starting from January). My uncle never informed me that I had to pay rent and we don’t have a lease. He did state and off hand remark saying “no one lives for free” but he has never told me what I have to pay or how to pay him (Plus I don’t live for free, I pay student loans, and utilities). He says that he will drop the suit if I pay him $500 ($100 per month) and is calling it back rent. My question is: Can he sue me for rent when he hasn’t informed me that I owe rent? Is there anything I can do? Thanks for your responses!!