promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

file for unemployment or possibly go back to work?

I have been working at my job since I was 16 in 2006. Beginning in January I was only able to work weekends because of school. Because of various snowstorms and being sick I missed about half the days I was scheduled (probably around 20 total). The last day I worked was in the beginning of March.

Once my classes ended from college in May I made a new availability to work all hours and when I went to my boss he told me I missed all these days at work and that if I wanted my job back I would have to have a meeting with a Union representative and as I was walking away told me to find a new job. I have set up a meeting but I am debating if I want to go back there or not. My boss is a very poor manager and I am thinking of filing for unemployment. The only problem is I am not sure if my employer can deny my unemployment because he is a very spiteful person and will try and stop it probably by saying it is my fault.

What should I do? Have a meeting and work at a miserable job (my job is not guaranteed but most likely I can get it back) or try and get unemployment and be considered fired (which may look bad in the future and my old boss can try and fight my claim)?

Update:

If I file this month, the claim goes from January-December of 09, where I worked over 1,000 hours.

Update 2:

And half of those days I was sick and have hospital records.

Update 3:

looking at the paperwork I have of previous schedules and paystubs, I missed 3 out of 8 days scheduled all for being sick and I have records to prove it.

Update 4:

Since January, the time frame were my work attendance has been questioned by my employer. As far as I am aware, my attendance in the previous 3 and 1/2 years has no bearing on my discharge. (If it is any consolation, however, my attendance is very good overall.)

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer