Troubles choosing a skateboard can u give me professional advice?

I am 5'7", 162 lbs, and I'm a beginner skateboarder. i skate streets and I'm learning tricks such as ollies and kick flips. the simple ones. i don't know what type of board to get, i understand that there are levels of decks such as 7.5, 7.6, 7.75, and so on. what type of deck would be right for me? and between these brands of trucks, which one would be best for me: Grind King, Destructo, Royal, Venture, Independent, Krux, Ruckus, Thunder, or Tracker? and what kind of bearings should i get? i don't understand the differences between different bearings. and what kind of skateboard hardware would you recommend? and also the risers...i know these are a lot of questions, I'm just so paranoid about getting a bad board.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Best Answer

First thing first, always buy your skateboard from a local shop rather than from the internet. This way your going to be able to see and feel the depth of concave and size of board and also check out the graphics. The staff in skate shops are passionate about skating so won't try and rip you off but help you get the best setup for your level. Also Skate shops don't get a lot of profit from the products they sell and need all the help they can get from the local skaters. Skate shops are also a fantastic way to meet local skateboarders and learn about upcoming demos and comps so as a beginner it would be a good idea to go to your local skate shop and meet some of the locals. Now onto your setup...