I'm new to guitar and am having issues with the F chord.?

I can't seem to make it do anything but go "plink" and it is bugging me! lol. Know of any alternate fingerings, or any hints that can help me make it actually have the strings vibrate instead of just going "plink?"

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Absolutely, those barre chords in the lower registers (like the Bb and F chords) and even partial chords, like F on the top four strings, can be really hard to do when you start out. You are definitely not alone :-)

The obvious thing is that it does take quite a bit of hand and finger strength to do this effortlessly. This will take time to develop.

However, there's a major issue which way too many seems to forget and that is how your guitar has been set up. A guitar which has no real (or insufficient) set up, will commonly be very hard to play on the first frets.

When you have your guitar adjusted with light strings - set for proper neck relief, action (string height) at the bridge and action at the nut - you will have a guitar which is far easier to handle.

You can read more about this issue on the page below if you want to. I suggest you take the guitar to a qualified repairer or luthier (guitar builder) to have it looked at. You will often times be floored by the difference between a hard to play guitar and one which has been adjusted for your level of skill and playing style.

Source(s): 40+ years of setting up, repairing, playing and dealing with guitars. http://www.learnelectricguitarnow.net/guitar-set-u...
  • 1 decade ago