What are my chances of getting into MIT?

I'm a high school sophomore (girl) and I really want to go into civil engineering at MIT. This summer, I'm planning on volunteering for over 200 hours for a hospital, and currently, my weighted GPA is a 3.9 and my unweighted is a 4.125. And another thing, I'm not in the "accelerated" classes at my school because the teachers didn't think I was "ready" back in sixth grade. If I write an amazing essay, score an almost perfect on my SATs/ACT, and get an engineering internship next summer, then do you think I still have a chance? What do you think my chances of getting into Caltech, if not MIT? I know it's a long shot, but please give me advice as to what I should do. Thanks :)

Update:

Aw :( What about Cornell or Columbia? What should I aim for, given my circumstances?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Best Answer