Is Mexico safe for Americans?

State Department issues new travel advisory.

http://azstarnet.com/news/local/border/article_ff8...

By following this link to the U.S. State Department’s, Death of U.S. citizen’s abroad from non-natural causes you will see that there are hundreds of victims. http://travel.state.gov/law/family_issues/death/de...

Appallingly, thirty-two percent of all “non-natural” deaths of U.S. citizens outside this country occur in Mexico.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

It hasn't been for years now. I worked in the travel industry for many years and traveled to the high end destinations. My favorite was Zihuatenho. [sp?] I slummed it one year and spent some time in Mazatlan. What a disaster. My girlfriends and I were stalked all over the place by 4 sweaty leering Mexican dudes. They were after my blonde friends big caboose. It was very scary. These guys must have known someone at the airport because the officials took our documents and threatened to throw us in jail. We almost missed our return flight by minutes. Then at LAX, we were stopped by the Feds and harassed. Said I fit the description of a drug dealer. Please. That was it. No more Mexico for me.

• Anonymous
    5 years ago