Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentOther - Politics & Government · 1 decade ago

How do think the Men at West point felt after Obama's speech there?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The men and women. I watched part of it. It seemed like many of them had been ordered to attend. Maybe most. I saw very few that looked enthusiastic.

Edit: Doug, chill dude. Of course I know they were required to attend. Subtle humuor, guess you were too worked up to notice. I suspect many would have chosen not to. I also believe many are not happy to have him as Commander in Chief. I stand by my observation that many were not enthusiastic. I noticed many either did not applaud or did so as the other guy said " golf clapping". No i did not serve. When I graduated from High School and was seriously considering it my father ( retired, 30 yr. ) discouraged me from it. He wanted me to take over the daily management of his business. I did register for selective service even though I was exempt. The military at that time was having no problem meeting recruitment goals. If they had it probably would have influenced both my mine and my fathers thoughts on the matter.

• 5 years ago

I thought it was excellent, well measured, and frankly so much better--from a diplomatic stand point--than any I have witnessed to date. Over on Morning Joe, they are already starting their negative spin. While they agree it was a great speech, there are a couple who are now taking it in the "how will what he said ever reach the people who need to hear it" direction. What are they saying, that it was a waste of time, or that there are not a lot of Americans who could also benefit from some of the basics found within.

• Doug B
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago